Peggy's Cove Lighthouse Ornament
Peggy's Cove, located on the Lighthouse Route along the South Shore of Nova Scotia, is a picturesque fishing village as well as home to a world famous lighthouse.
According to legend, Peggy's Cove was named after the only survivor of a schooner that ran aground and sank in 1800... a woman named Margaret. The locals called her "Peggy" and her home came to be known as Peggy's Cove.
Originally built in 1868, the lighthouse marks the eastern entrance of St. Margaret's Ba, and is officially known as the Peggy's Point Lighthouse. The structure is a classic red-and-white lighthouse which is still operated by the Canadian Coast Guard. The light station is situated on the extensive rocks on Peggy's Point, immediately south of the village and it's cove, and or a time did double duty as the village's Post Office during summer months. This lighthouse is one of the most photographed structures in Atlantic Canada, and one of the most recognized lighthouses in the world.